37.4 F
Friday, February 23, 2024

A Cut Above: Chef Aly Sedlock

Fossil's Royal Stag chef Aly Sedlock feels...

Musician Zac Grooms is Running Down a Dream

Arlington native makes music full-time job Zac Grooms...

Condon Chamber moves to Dunn Bros. Building

One of the region’s best-known entities is...

Clinton Dyer to be the next Wheeler County Commissioner

Dyer wins outright, no need for general election

Clinton Dyer won almost 54% of the vote in Tuesday’s Wheeler County Primary Election. He will begin his term as Wheeler County Commissioner in January of 2021.

By eclipsing 50% of the vote, Dyer will not face a challenger in November.

Incumbent Rob Ordway had about half as many votes as Dyer, finishing with 27.5%. Anne Mitchell finished with 12.83% and Laura Smith with 4,.95%.

Ordway won the Mitchell precinct but did not perform well in Fossil or in his native Spray. There, Dyer had nearly 56% of the vote. In Fossil, Dyer got 62% of the vote.

An error had been made by the Oregon Elections Division in April, which misprinted the seat that Dyer was seeking. The state incorrectly said that he was running for Wheeler County Surveyor.

With the win, Dyer unseats Rob Ordway, who won two elections and has served as Wheeler County Commissioner #2 for eight years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Local Stories


To the Rescue

By Stephen AllenThe Times-Journal Everything changed for Teresa Farmer fifteen...

OBITUARY: Walter Eugene “Bill” Turner

Walter Eugene “Bill” Turner was born on November 6th,...

OBITUARY: Darlene Adair (Wetherell) Deen

Darlene Adair (Wetherell) Deen passed peacefully in her sleep...

“The Station” brings inspiration to Arlington

Entrepreneurship class spurs boutique shop A new boutique and coffee...

Bomb Threats: Arlington, Condon schools evacuate

Frontier Regional Alerts sent out automated messages and phone...